My Lamborghini

Standard

lamborghini cropped   I drive a 2013 gray Ford Focus.  It’s a small, economical, unremarkable car with a few dings and almost 100,000 miles on it.  On the outside, I’m a lot like my car.  I’m small and unremarkable and have a few dings and gray hairs.  Like every human being ever created, I have a body, and I have a soul. My body is what you see on the outside; my soul is where I think and feel and choose and believe.  (Mind, will, personality, and heart are all words that refer to the soul.)  Then there’s my spirit.  The thing that sets mankind apart from other creatures is the fact that we each have a spirit.  God is spirit and he created us in His own image.  In addition to our minds and our bodies, he gave us each a spirit.

In my spirit, there’s a flying Lamborghini.  On the day I was born again, I became a new creation, not in my body, and not immediately in my soul, but in my spirit.  It’s like God gave me a Lamborghini parked in an invisible garage.  This is the new creation that Paul talks about in 2 Corinthians.  We relate to God and everything in the spirit realm through our spirits, not primarily in the body or the mind. Before I was born again, God did speak to my spirit, but I didn’t know it was His voice I was hearing.  I felt things and didn’t understand where they came from.  After I became a believer, I learned to recognize His voice better and hear Him more clearly.

Just like a Lamborghini can do things that a Ford Focus could never do, my spirit can do things that my body can’t.  The same power that raised Jesus from the dead resides in my spirit (Romans 8:11).  The power to heal the sick, give sight to the blind, and cast out demons dwells in my spirit.  The power to display love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control also dwells in my spirit.  But while my Focus is powered by gas and my body is powered by food, my spirit is powered by faith.  I can’t pull into the local gas station to fuel up my spirit.  Faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God (Romans 10:17).  I build my faith by hearing the word of God; not just by listening to someone preach or by reading the Bible, but by digesting what God is saying to me personally.  I need to be willing to let His word change me from the inside out.  There’s a lot involved in changing from a Focus to a Lamborghini!

I’ve seen the power of faith in my life far too often to doubt that it is real.  But every time I go to drive my Lamborghini, I need to have faith for the moment.  It takes faith to love someone who is being hateful toward me.  It takes faith to offer to pray for an acquaintance who is suffering from a health problem, even knowing that I have been healed of the very same issue.  I know that God won’t withhold healing from them, but the person might not be able to accept it.

My goal is to bring glory to God by letting Him use me to heal those around me; not just their physical ailments, but the emptiness inside them that makes their lives emotionally painful. Physical healing is great, but knowing how much God loves me and wants good things for me is far better.  I want to share that peace and joy with others.  That’s why I write this blog.

One thought on “My Lamborghini

Leave a Reply

